Day in Court

Depth Chart

Game Preview








Buy & Sell Tickets on StubHub!

News and Notes

Allen: Carr Will Start Opener
Rookie Derek Carr will start Oakland's 2014 season opener against the host New York Jets on Sept. 7, Raiders coach Dennis Allen announced Sept. 1. Carr, a second round draft choice from Fresno State, will be the first rookie to start a season opener at quarterback in Raiders history. He will become the 18th starting quarterback for the Raiders since the start of the 2003 season.

Carr beat out vetearn Matt Schaub, who struggled during Oakland's exhibition season. Schaub, acquired by by the Raiders from the Houston Texans during in the offseason, was 24 of 47 passing for 218 yards with no touchdowns and one interception in three exhibition games.

Carr completed 11 of 13 passes for 143 yards and three touchdowns in Oakland's preseason finale against the Seattle Seahawks. Schaub sat out the game reportedly with elbow soreness. During his rookie preseason, Carr comnpleted 30 of 45 passes (66.7 percent) for 326 yards, four touchdowns and one interception. His passer rating was 108.2.

Updated: 09-01-2014

Raiders 32nd In NFL Attendance
The Raiders ranked 32nd in 2013 NFL attendance, according to espn.com.

Oakland averaged 50,444 fans for its eight regular-season home games at O.co Coliseum. The Coliseum has a listed football capacity of 53,200.

The Dallas Cowboys ranked first in 2013 NFL attendance with an average of 88,043 fans followed by the New York Giants (80,148), Green Bay Packers (77,947), Washington Redskins (77,220) and the New York Jets (76,957).

The bottom five teams in 2013 NFL attendance are the Raiders, St. Louis Rams (56,947), Pittsburgh Steelers (57,311), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (58,818) and Jacksonville Jaguars (59,940).

The Raiders also ranked 32nd in home attendance in the 2012, 2010 and 2009 seasons. They were 29th in the 2011 season.

Please click for 2013 NFL attendance rankings:

Updated: 02-10-2014

AFL Lives On
The Raiders are among eight NFL franchises that began play in 1960 as original members of the American Football League.

Along with the Raiders, the other seven AFL originals are:

Buffalo Bills, Denver Broncos, Boston Patriots (now New England Patriots), Houston Oilers (now Tennessee Titans), Dallas Texans (now Kansas City Chiefs) Chiefs, New York Titans (now New York Jets) and Los Angeles Chargers (now San Diego Chargers).

To read about the history of the AFL, please click here

Updated: 09-15-2009

Canton Hopefuls
Check out Crazy Canton Cuts, a blog promoting former AFL and NFL players who have merits to be in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.


Archives | Court | Home | Links | Schedule | Tickets