Day in Court

Depth Chart

Game Preview







Buy & Sell Tickets on StubHub!

HOF: Brown Denied Again
Former Raiders wide receiver Tim Brown was among 11 finalists not chosen for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2012.

The new inductees, announced Feb. 4 in Indianapolis, are running back Curtis Martin, defensive end/linebacker Chris Doleman, defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy, offensive tackle Willie Roaf, center Dermontti Dawson and seniors committee nominee Jack Butler,a defensive back.

Induction ceremonies are Aug. 4 in Canton, Ohio.

To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum vote of 80 percent from the 44-member selection committee.

The Raiders' Brown, 45, was a finalist for the third successive year.

Brown, right, tweeted on Feb. 4: "Raider nation!! Don't bother to watch tonight (on NFL Network) they passed on me again!! In fact, no wrs made it again. Gotta get some of y'all in there!!"

Brown played 16 seasons (1988-2003) for the Raiders and one for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. When he retired, the 1987 Heisman Trophy winner from Notre Dame ranked fifth in NFL total yards with 19,682.

Brown finished his career with 1,094 receptions for 14,934 yards and 101 touchdowns — all in the top three all-time when he retired after the 2004 season.

Other finalists not elected were running back Jerome Bettis, wide receivers Cris Carter and Andre Reed, coach Bill Parcells, defensive end/linebackers Kevin Greene and Charles Haley, guard Will Shields, defensive back Aeneas Williams and former 49ers owner Ed DeBartolo Jr. Guard Dick Stanfel, the other seniors finalist, also was not chosen.

For more information on the Class of 2012, please click Pro Football Hall of Fame

Updated: 02-05-2012


Archives | Court | Home | Links | Schedule | Tickets